SCO Acknowledges Federal Cabinet Appointments

November 20, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 20, 2019

ANISHINAABE AND DAKOTA TERRITORY, MB — Southern Chiefs’ Organization (SCO) Grand Chief Jerry Daniels would like to take this moment to congratulate the Ministers sworn in to the Federal Cabinet today by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Grand Chief Jerry Daniels extends his welcome, “I look forward to working with this slate of Ministers towards building stronger relationships of mutual benefit of all of our peoples.  I would like to extend a special acknowledgement to Ministers Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations, Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services, and Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs. We look forward to meeting with you all and continuing our work together to help out our 34 southern First Nations.”

SCO send its congratulations to the following Federal Cabinet Ministers:

  • Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Anita Anand, Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  • Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Bill Blair, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Bardish Chagger, Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Youth
  • Mona Fortier, Minister of Middle-Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance
  • Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health
  • Ahmed Hussen, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Melanie Joly, Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages
  • David Lametti, Minister of Justice and Attorney-General
  • Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
  • Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services
  • Maryam Monsef, Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Minister of Rural Economic Development
  • Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance
  • Seamus O’Regan, Minister of Natural Resources
  • Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Accessibility
  • Pablo Rodriguez, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Quebec Lieutenant
  • Harjit Sajjan, Minister of National Defence
  • Filomena Tassi, Minister of Labour
  • Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs
  • Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Environment and Climate Change

We wish you all the best in your new appointments, and look forward to seeing how First Nations can work together to better service our respective communities and constituencies.

The Southern Chiefs’ Organization represents 34 First Nations of Manitoba in agreement to establish an independent political forum to protect, preserve, promote, and enhance First Nations peoples’ inherent rights, languages, customs, and traditions through the application and implementation of the spirit and intent of the Treaty-making process.



For further information, please contact Vic Savino at (204) 946-1869 or via email at

Original PDF Press Release: Federal Cabinet 2019 Appointments PR