Southern Chiefs of Manitoba

Southern Chiefs’ Organization represents 34 Anishinaabe and Dakota Nations and more than 83,000 citizens in what is now called southern Manitoba. SCO is an independent political organization that protects, preserves, promotes, and enhances First Nations peoples’ inherent rights, languages, customs, and traditions through the application and implementation of the spirit and intent of the Treaty-making process.

Member First Nations of Southern Chiefs’ Organization

Check out the interactive map of our 34 Anishinaabe and Dakota member communities.

Berens River First Nation
Chief Norman McKay
Birdtail Sioux Dakota Nation
Chief Lindsay Bunn Jr
Black River First NationChief KentChief Sheldon KentBloodvein First Nation
Chief Roland Hamilton
Brokenhead Ojibway Nation
Baaskaandibewiziibing Ojibway Nation
Chief Gordon Bluesky
Buffalo Point First Nation
Buffalo Point Chief Andrea CampChief Andrea Camp
Canupawakpa Dakota Nation
Chief Lola Thunderchild
Dakota Plains Wahpeton Oyate
Chief Donny Smoke
Dakota Tipi First Nation
Chief Dennis Pashe
Dauphin River First Nation
Chief Lawerence Letandre
Ebb and Flow First Nation
Chief Wayne Desjarlais
Gambler First Nation
Chief David Ledoux
Hollow Water First NationHollow Water Chief Larry BarkerChief Larry BarkerKeeseekoowenin Ojibway First Nation
Chief Dwayne Blackbird
Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation
Chief Tony Travers
Lake Manitoba First Nation
Chief Cornell McLean
Lake St. Martin First Nation
Chief Chris Traverse
Little Grand Rapids First Nation
Chief Oliver Owen
Little Saskatchewan First Nation
Chief Hector Shorting
Long Plain First Nation
Chief Kyra Wilson
O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi First Nation
Chief Kerwin Chaboyer
Pauingassi First Nation
Chief Roddy Owens
Peguis First Nation
Chief Dr. Stanley Bird
Pinaymootang First Nation
Chief Kurvis Anderson
Pine Creek First Nation
Chief Derek Nepinak
Poplar River First Nation
Chief Vera Mitchell
Rolling River First Nation
Chief Wilfred McKay
Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation
Chief Gary Roberts
Sagkeeng Anicinabe First Nation
Chief E.J. Fontaine
Sandy Bay Ojibway First NationChief Prince Sandy BayChief Trevor Prince
Skownan First Nation
Chief Cameron Catcheway
Swan Lake First Nation
Chief Jason Daniels
Tootinaowaziibeeng Treaty Reserve
Chief Barry McKay
Waywayseecappo First Nation
Chief Murray Clearsky